As is the case of all Primary Schools they are managed by a Board of Management.

Scoil Dairbhre’s board is made up of the following people:



  • Fr. Pat McEnroe – Chairman and School Chaplain

  • Emily Brennan – Secretary

  • Fionnuala Gracey – Treasurer

  • Ann Geary

  • Martin Noonan

  • Declan Callan

  • Elaine Cluskey

  • Ciara McQuillan – Teacher Representative


Functions of the Board of Management

Boards of Management are responsible for the direct government of schools. The duties of the Board of Management include the following:


▪   The appointment of teachers and ancillary staff

▪   Approving school closures

▪   Approving teacher absences for a variety of reasons

▪   The appointment of teachers to deputy/principal and other posts of responsibility

▪   Ensuring compliance with relevant legislation

▪   Ensuring that schools are adequately insured and maintained



Specific duties of the Chairperson of the Board of Management include

▪   Acting as a correspondent with the Department of Education and Skills and all outside bodies

▪   Presiding at Board of Management meetings

▪   Signing the monthly returns and annual statistical returns

▪   Serving on the selection board for the appointment of teachers



Our Board of Management work very hard in a voluntary capacity for the benefit of all the children in Scoil Dairbhre and it is very much appreciated by all.